" working sail"

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
Danny Nye's picture
Danny Nye
" working sail"

I am new to this forum but long before I was aware of the 3 Es etc. I was aware of these trends. 

Here is my question: Is there a place in our future for Working Sail? A return to some form of sustainable, wind powered transportation, fishing, etc. I have been a yacht carpenter and wooden boat builder for many years and that is my skill set, plus being a blacksmith and Eagle Scout, Some commodities will always be in demand such as medicines, brick, steel, lumber, salt, emergency supplies. No mater how much of the transportation system grinds to a halt, some things must get through. Any comments? 

A. M.'s picture
A. M.
One Man's Opinion

Not just yes, HECK YES.

I am from a river town, and there's no doubt in my mind that a person with a sailboat would be significantly better off than a someone with a car, or even a horse in some cases.
A good sized boat would allow you to reach the ocean to fish, clam and give you access to salt, and other areas for trade. It's also relatively self contained so if you really had to get out of dodge for good, you could and you'd have greater mobility than most, with (perhaps) lower risks. The open ocean is a shifty proposition for a few reasons, pirates and weather are the two that occur to me.

In general though, I think your skills will make you a very valuable member of your community.
Wish I knew how to sail - I'd love to have a boat.

Cheers, and welcome!

Aaron

sundarb's picture
sundarb
The future is already here

Danny,

Dmitry Orlov, who wrote the book "Reinventing Collapse" actually lives on a sail boat now. See these links below:

http://cluborlov.blogspot.com/2011/05/making-best-use-of-your-energy-elves.html

http://cluborlov.blogspot.com/2011/06/sailing-craft-for-post-collapse-world.html

https://docs.google.com/Doc?id=dtxqwqr_23grsfpp