Wild Foods

16 posts / 0 new
Last post
Quercus bicolor's picture
Quercus bicolor
Wild Foods

I've been gathering acorns the past week or two. I'm new to this and got all my info from a link that was posted on this site a week or two ago (in the daily digest?):,

http://www.prodigalgardens.info/september%20weblog.htm#Acorns

And for more details:

http://www.prodigalgardens.info/processing%20acorns%20step%20by%20step.htm

Anyway, here's how it's worked so far for me. Here in Upstate New York, there are 3 species of the sweeter, easier to process, white oak group: the white oak, the swamp white oak and the chestnut oak. Because they have fewer tannins, it's much easier to leach out the bitter flavor. For the same reason, they don't store very well until they are thoroughly dried - so I hear. They also begin to sprout soon after they fall and from what I read, sprouting acorns that have not turned green are fine to eat (they are more or less nutritious depending on who you believe), but they don't store as well. Last week, about October 7 or 8, I gathered about 8-10 pounds of swamp white oak acorns from under a big tree near work. The closely mown lawn made it easy - only 30 minutes for about 1500 acorns. Since only oaks growing in the open produce heavy crops and then only about every 3 years, and since red oaks are much more common than whites around here, finding a good tree is not always easy.

I took them home an dried them in a 170 degree oven. I got carried a way and dried them for about 6 hours. Even after this much time, my glasses still fogged when I peaked in the oven. The nuts got quite darkly colored, but did not tasted at all burned.