Where Is The World's Wealth Going?

19 posts / 0 new
Last post
The_Black_Death's picture
The_Black_Death
Where Is The World's Wealth Going?

The weird thing about this economic crisis, and maybe it's just me, because I am fairly new to economics and finance, but the thing I have noticed is that it seems as if everyone is going broke.

It seems that if America's going broke, then China, or Europe, or Japan, or whomever would rise with our wealth being transferred to them, but all I hear is that Europe is going broke too, and China's going to be hell up the creek, if we go broke. I've watch news segments that talk about Japan being exposed to our crisis too, so I'm asking, where is it going?

Common sense tells me that the wealth doesn't just evaporate into thin air does it? It transfers to someone else, so who or what is that?

Is it the "International Bankers" or "Illuminati" or "Stone Cutters". . . . . . (Simpson's reference)

Where is the wealth of the civilized world going?

pir8don's picture
pir8don
Re: Where Is The World's Wealth Going?

Civilised really? Money is to me a game and those that make the rules win the game. Except in one respect in that people, in the civilised world, are prepared to work for it. Wealth is a concept (of the game, the matrix, the economy what have you) that has been round so long that it seems real. It was never real just the things made by peoples work are real. Those things if they are solid remain. The money game got too complex and got the speed wabbles. Poof - all the wealth has dissapeared. It was never there, we only thought it was IMO.

Don

MarkM's picture
MarkM

Much of the "wealth" is only the appearance of wealth gained through a mountain of debt.  Leverage on the way down can obviously be as powerful as it is on the way up, but it ain't nearly as purty.

Don,