Where do you all get current events? Looking for real news.

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
sammy's picture
sammy
Status: Bronze Member (Offline)
Joined: Feb 23 2010
Posts: 35
Where do you all get current events? Looking for real news.

 It is a challenge to get current information on what is going on in the world swhich is why I am asking.

 

 In the past my book marks were CNN, MSNBC, and the usual suspects. Since discovering The Crash Course my bookmarks have changed. Here is a list of what I am currently looking at on a daily basis:

 

marketwatch.com

businessinsider.com

oftwominds.com

zerohedge.com

collapsenet.com

gonzallira.blogspot.com

maxkaiser.com

activistpost.com

aljazeera.net

theautomaticearth.blogspot.com

fairewinds.com

That is about it.

 

 So when you get up in the morning what are you reading to see what is going on in the world?

 

 Thanks, Sammy

Travlin's picture
Travlin
Status: Diamond Member (Offline)
Joined: Apr 15 2010
Posts: 1322
Good list

Sammy

I would add financialsense.com  Also check the links under Recommended 3E on the lower right of the home page here.

Travlin 

Johnny Oxygen's picture
Johnny Oxygen
Status: Diamond Member (Offline)
Joined: Sep 9 2009
Posts: 1443
We had a thread about this

We had a thread about this before. Let me se if I can dig it up.

jumblies's picture
jumblies
Status: Silver Member (Offline)
Joined: Jun 13 2010
Posts: 244
This is the list of sites I

This is the list of sites I go through each day...

http://www.24hgold.com/english/home.aspx

http://english.aljazeera.net/

http://www.tfmetalsreport.com/

http://ampedstatus.org/

http://armstrongeconomics.com/martin_armstrong_writings/

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/

http://www.bloomberg.com/

http://www.peakprosperity.com/blog

http://www.dailykos.com/

http://www.davidmcwilliams.ie/category/articles

http://www.fgmr.com/

http://financialsense.com/

http://fofoa.blogspot.com/

http://www.fredoneverything.net/

http://www.ft.com/home/uk

http://www.gata.org/

http://www.goldenjackass.com/main5.html

http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/wikileaks

http://harveyorgan.blogspot.com/

http://www.housepricecrash.co.uk/

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/

http://jessescrossroadscafe.blogspot.com/

http://kingworldnews.com/kingworldnews/King_World_News.html

http://market-ticker.org/

http://www.marketwatch.com/

http://maxkeiser.com/

http://www.mindfulmoney.co.uk/

http://jsmineset.com/

http://www.nakedcapitalism.com/

http://www.rawstory.com/

http://www.reuters.com/

http://screwtapefiles.blogspot.com/

http://sgtreport.com/

http://www.shadowstats.com/

http://www.silvergoldsilver.com/

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/

http://www.nytimes.com/

http://www.theoildrum.com/

http://www.therealnews.com/t2/

http://hat4uk.wordpress.com/

http://tradewithdave.com/

http://traderdannorcini.blogspot.com/

http://usawatchdog.com/

http://europe.wsj.com/home-page

http://www.washingtonpost.com/

http://wealthcycles.com/

http://whatreallyhappened.com/

http://www.zerohedge.com/

 
Vanityfox451's picture
Vanityfox451
Status: Diamond Member (Offline)
Joined: Dec 28 2008
Posts: 1636
Davos Daily Digest Home Page ~ A Must For Up-to-Date News Info

Sammy,

Davos ran the Daily Digest for nearly a year here when this site was in early infancy. He left behind quite a legacy with his personal homepage - dedicated to everyone a few days before he passed on the batten in September 2009 - as a gift that covered every site he visited daily to compile all of his data. It has remained my homepage since, and I sware by it. All you need do is hit the link below and press the single registering button, "which takes but a couple of clicks of the mouse" as Davos used to say ...

http://www.google.com/ig/sharetab?source=stb&stid=1094100522374232687331...

It is such a precise and detailed map of the day to day, well within a week you'll wonder how you did without it!

Enjoy,

Paul

littlefeatfan's picture
littlefeatfan
Status: Silver Member (Offline)
Joined: Jul 20 2009
Posts: 141
3E Links

 http://3es.weebly.com/links.html

 350 org http://www.350.org/ 
 Albert Bates http://peaksurfer.blogspot.com/ 
 Alliance for Climate Protection http://www.climateprotect.org/ 
 Alternet http://www.alternet.org/ 
 Ambrose Evans-Pritchard http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/comment/ambroseevans_pritchard/ 
 American Dream http://endoftheamericandream.com/ 
 Amped Status http://www.ampedstatus.com/ 
 Archdruid Report http://thearchdruidreport.blogspot.com/ 
 ASPO http://www.peakoil.net/ 
 Automatic Earth http://theautomaticearth.blogspot.com/ 
 Before it's News http://beforeitsnews.com/ 
 Big Picture http://www.ritholtz.com/blog/ 
 Burning Platform http://www.theburningplatform.com/ 
 Business Insider http://www.businessinsider.com/ 
 Calculated Risk http://www.calculatedriskblog.com/ 
 Carolyn Baker http://carolynbaker.net/ 
 Casaubon's Book http://scienceblogs.com/casaubonsbook/ 
 Charles Hugh Smith http://www.oftwominds.com/blog.html 
 Chatelaine's Keys http://sharonastyk.com/ 
 Chris Martenson http://www.peakprosperity.com/blog 
 Climate Ark http://www.climateark.org/ 
 Climate Progress http://climateprogress.org/ 
 Collapse Network http://www.collapsenet.com/ 
 Common Dreams http://www.commondreams.org/ 
 Common Security Club http://www.commonsecurityclub.org/ 
 Community Solutions http://www.communitysolution.org/  
 Cost of Energy http://www.grinzo.com/energy/ 
 C-Realm http://c-realm.com/  Crash Watcher http://crash-watcher.blogspot.com/
 Crude Oil Peak http://www.crudeoilpeak.com/ 
 Culture Change http://www.culturechange.org/cms/index.php 
 Daily KOS http://www.dailykos.com/ 
 Daily Paul http://www.dailypaul.com/ 
 Damon Vrabel http://csper.org/ 
 Decline and Fall of Western Civilization http://declineandfallofwesterncivilization.blogspot.com/ 
 Decline of Empire http://www.declineoftheempire.com/ 
 Democracy Now http://www.democracynow.org/ 
 Dmitry Orlov http://cluborlov.blogspot.com/ 
 Dollar Collapse http://dollarcollapse.com/ 
 Dylan Ratigan http://www.dylanratigan.com/  
 Earth Policy Institute http://www.earth-policy.org/ 
 Economic Collapse http://theeconomiccollapseblog.com/ 
 Energy Bulletin http://www.energybulletin.net/ 
 Environment 360 http://e360.yale.edu/ 
 Farmer Brown Aquaponics http://farmerbrownsaquaponics.blogspot.com/ 
 FedUpUSA http://fedupusa.org/ 
 Films for Action http://www.filmsforaction.org/  
 Financial Armageddon http://www.financialarmageddon.com/ 
 Financial Sense http://www.financialsense.com/ 
 Firedoglake http://firedoglake.com/ 
 George Washington's Blog http://georgewashington2.blogspot.com/ 
 Getting Started in Emergency Preparedness http://gsiep.blogspot.com/ 
 Global Guerrillas http://globalguerrillas.typepad.com/globalguerrillas/ 
 Global Research http://www.globalresearch.ca/ 
 Golem XIV http://golemxiv-credo.blogspot.com/ 
 Gonzalo Lira http://gonzalolira.blogspot.com/ 
 Gordon T Long http://www.gordontlong.com/ 
 Gregor Macdonald http://gregor.us/ 
 Grinning Planet http://www.grinningplanet.com/ 
 Grist http://www.grist.org/ 
 Growth Busters http://www.growthbusters.org/ 
 Hobby Farms http://www.hobbyfarms.com/ 
 How to Boil a Frog http://www.howtoboilafrog.com/ 
 How to save the World - Dave Pollard http://howtosavetheworld.ca/
 Information Clearinghouse http://www.informationclearinghouse.info/ 
 James Howard Kunstler http://kunstler.com/blog/ 
 Jay Hanson http://jayhanson.us/ 
 Jeff Rubin http://www.jeffrubinssmallerworld.com/blog/
 Jesse's Café Americain http://jessescrossroadscafe.blogspot.com/ 
 John Perkins http://www.johnperkins.org/ 
 King World News http://kingworldnews.com/kingworldnews/King_World_News.html 
 Kurt Cobb http://resourceinsights.blogspot.com/ 
 Market Ticker http://market-ticker.org/ 
 Matt Taibbi http://www.rollingstone.com/politics/blogs/taibblog 
 Max Keiser http://www.maxkeiser.com/ 
 Mish's Global Economic Trend Analysis http://globaleconomicanalysis.blogspot.com/ 
 Mother Earth News http://www.motherearthnews.com/ 
 My Budget 360 http://www.mybudget360.com/ 
 Naked Capitalism http://www.nakedcapitalism.com/ 
 Naomi Klien http://www.naomiklein.org/main      
 Nassim Taleb http://www.fooledbyrandomness.com/ 
 Nathan's Economic Edge http://economicedge.blogspot.com/ 
 Nature Bats Last http://guymcpherson.com 
 Oil Drum http://www.theoildrum.com/ 
 Oil Empire and Peak Oil http://imperialeconomics.blogspot.com/ 
 Oil Price http://oilprice.com/ 
 Peak Generation http://peakgeneration.blogspot.com/ 
 Peak Moment TV http://www.peakmoment.tv/ 
 Peak Oil Blues http://www.peakoilblues.com/ 
 Peak Oil Blues Blog http://www.peakoilblues.org/blog/ 
 Peak Watch http://peakwatch.typepad.com/peak_watch/ 
 Planet Ark http://planetark.org/ 
 Post Carbon Institute http://www.postcarbon.org/ 
 Post Peak Living http://www.postpeakliving.com/ 
 Pro Publica http://www.propublica.org/blog/ 
 Public Citizen http://www.citizen.org/Page.aspx?pid=183 
 Question Everything http://questioneverything.typepad.com  
 Raw Story http://www.rawstory.com/ 
 Real Climate http://www.realclimate.org/ 
 Real News Network http://therealnews.com/t2/ 
 Rice Farmer http://ricefarmer.blogspot.com/ 
 Richard Heinberg http://richardheinberg.com/ 
 Rick Ackerman http://www.rickackerman.com/ 
 Seeking Alpha http://seekingalpha.com/ 
 Shadow Government Stats http://www.shadowstats.com/ 
 SHTFplan http://www.shtfplan.com/ 
 Slow Money http://www.slowmoney.org/  
 Solve Climate News http://solveclimate.com/ 
 STRATFOR http://www.stratfor.com/frontpage  
 Stumbling Homestead http://stumblinghomestead.com/blog/
 Survival Blog http://www.survivalblog.com/ 
 Survivalist Blog http://www.thesurvivalistblog.net/ 
 Swarm USA http://www.swarmusa.com/vb4/ 
 Tom's Dispatch http://www.tomdispatch.com/ 
 Transition Colorado http://www.transitioncolorado.org/  
 Transition Culture http://transitionculture.org/ 
 Transition US http://www.transitionus.org/ 
 Transition Voice http://transitionvoice.com/
 Treehugger http://www.treehugger.com/ 
 Truthout http://www.truthout.org/ 
 Two Beers with Steve http://twobeerswithsteve.libsyn.com/ 
 US Debt Clock http://www.usdebtclock.org/ 
 Web of Debt http://webofdebt.wordpress.com/ 
 Yes Magazine http://www.yesmagazine.org/ 
 Zero Hedge http://www.zerohedge.com/  

Poet's picture
Poet
Status: Diamond Member (Offline)
Joined: Jan 21 2009
Posts: 1892
Charles Hugh Smith and John Michael Greer

I definitely head over to ZeroHedge.com and the Daily Digest here on an everyday basis.
http://www.zerohedge.com
http://www.peakprosperity.com/category/blog/daily-digest (generously supplemented with comments by people like saxplayer00o1)

I can't say enough good things about Charles Hugh Smith's Of Two Minds blog:
http://www.oftwominds.com/blog.html

And I really like the once-weekly essays of the deep-thinking kind from John Michael Greer of the Archdruid Report:
http://thearchdruidreport.blogspot.com/

Smith and Greer both take a few articles to get used to, but their out-of-the-box thinking and development is unparalleled.

I consider them in as high a regard as I do Chris Martenson.

I like "Ilargi" and "Stoneleigh" (Nicole Foss) over at The Automatic Earth for their counterpoints (they're in the deflationist camp, but are also financial crisis and peak oil aware):
http://theautomaticearth.blogspot.com/

Occasionally, I'll hit up Bill Gross, John Mauldin, and Jeremy Grantham for their newsletters.

Youtube is great for videos on Sepp Holzer, videos by PaulWheaton12, building, gardening, skills, know-how, and other DIY projects.

Poet

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
Login or Register to post comments