Where are the arguments that deal with the scarcity/conservation/price relationship

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
obamagasm's picture
obamagasm
Where are the arguments that deal with the scarcity/conservation/price relationship

Howdy y'all. newbie here.

One standard economic challenge to resource depletion concerns involves how the price rises as supplies decrease, creating incentives to innovate efficiency and availability. It is so standard, I am guessing you have addressed it, but 30 minutes into the site, I have not found it. I also do not have a good counter to it. Could you help a brotha out?

Here is the issue as I understand it. As price increases, previous prohibitively expensive extraction becomes viable --> more supply from "dead" wells. Doesn't solve the issue, but means - higher prices --> more supply. This means we don't run out, prices just get steadily higher. This slows down the "peak" curve. I have been told that we have seen just this pattern with many resources that were thought to become scarce.

Of course, this doesn't really touch the main argument, which is that rising prices given supply/demand, tied with a fiat currency and increasing projected deficits are going to turn the world as we know it upside down. What it suggests is 1) it will not be as dramatic a shift as this site suggests, 2) exports will not drop to zero, just become more expensive.

As an example: the fact that this basic economic process is not explicitly addressed in these videos is a severe credibility issue for this site IMO. (For example - If I had a bunch of money to bet - I would be it ALL that Mexico will continue exporting oil to the US in 2012, 2013, 2014, etc. i.e., that the declaration that it will stop in 2011 is naive to the point of ludicrous, and throws doubt on the credibility of the rest of the site.

AND, I assume you have answers for this - where are they?

--

examples

--