what will happen if I still owe on my car

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
guysmilely's picture
guysmilely
what will happen if I still owe on my car

what will happen if I still owe on my car and hyperinflation and/or the crash of the dollar hits will it be repo?  If the bank won't except my US dollars to make a carpayment.  Will it also be the same for my morgage?  Im still learning and trying to understand it all.....

TD's picture
TD
The car repo man will always

The car repo man will always come get your car if you stop making payments. The bank will always expect to recieve it's payments in dollars.

docmims's picture
docmims
#1 The car repo man has to

#1 The car repo man has to find your car to repo it.

#2 The car repo man has to have gas to come get your car.

--2b If you can't afford gas or it isn't available, does it matter?

--2c Is the car repo guy bulletproof? jkSmile

earthwise's picture
earthwise
guysmilely wrote: what will
guysmilely wrote:

what will happen if I still owe on my car and hyperinflation and/or the crash of the dollar hits will it be repo?  If the bank won't except my US dollars to make a carpayment.  Will it also be the same for my mortgage?  Im still learning and trying to understand it all.....

Your car loan and mortgage is undoubtedly denominated in US$, so how could the bank not accept them when that's what the contract calls for? If your obligated to pay them dollars and you do so, then you've fulfilled your obligation. Peroid.

lacourre's picture
lacourre
Let's go further with the

Let's go further with the question... what if there is a "bank holiday" OR so much inflation that a new denomination needs to be issued?  What happened in the Weimer Republic with those issues?  Did they re-evaluate the loans into the new denomination... or where they already all paid off due to massive inflation??

p.s. docmims, good points, LOL :-)

rocketgirl1's picture
rocketgirl1
Just a guess here but