What is TSHTF for you? How will you know it's here?

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
cannotaffordit's picture
cannotaffordit
What is TSHTF for you? How will you know it's here?

Hi everybody,

I've been using the term TSHTF for at least 2 years.  Now, I'm wondering exactly what we mean by that?  I don't mean the letters.  We all know what they stand for.  I mean when will each of us KNOW when it has exactly happened for us?  For those recently unemployed, or had their homes foreclosed, I imagine TSHTF is already here big time.

For me, it will be when our currency becomes so worthless that I can no longer afford to live conservatively in my paid-for home because of increasing taxes, utilities, food costs, etc.  At that point, I'm not sure what these old retired folks will do.  (We've done everything we can think of....stockpiled food and water...created a garden, created good community of like-minded folks, etc.  But sometimes, we wonder just how long that will carry us.)

What about the rest of you.   What will be your "marker", and how long do you figure it will last?  Or, do you still think TS will actually HIF?

mainecooncat's picture
mainecooncat
Re: What is TSHTF for you? How will you know it's here?

Well, Ben A, as Dmitry Orlov has emphasized: collapse is deeply personal. And I think your question here really highlights that most important of points.

For me and my family, we are still in the witnessing phase and not the experiencing one -- though my partner has been unable to find a "real" job in the more than two years since she graduated from school. We've always led a more alternative lifestyle than most, so a lot of the changes many people are making were already part of our MO.