What is the likely future for scientists?

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
popouillo's picture
popouillo
What is the likely future for scientists?

Hi all, 

I just became a member of the network after watching the complete crash course, and I'm, as anyone astonished. 

I'm a young scientist working in biological sciences. I'd like to raise the issue of how important will different professions be in a not distant future, or, in other words, which professions do you think society could afford in the future. In that sense, basic science lives from government expends and I see not very unlikely that it could be cut in an economic failure scenario. 

As regards to me or yourself, what is your opinion on this? Have you thought of changing your job foreseen that the skills that you gain in it could be useless in the future economic system?

Best wishes for you all,

Luis Toledo, PhD.

Madrid, Spain

V's picture
V
Re: What is the likely future for scientists?

They will likely go back to school get a degree in Economics an MBA go to work for a Fortune 300 company. Become disenchanted and start a website to tell people how screwed up the world is. LOL

In all seriousness a biological scientist should have no problems finding work, multinational corporations such as Monsanto and all the Pharmaceuticals will pay good money to get the results they want

V

Nichoman's picture
Nichoman

Luis...

Yes, there will be a need for scientists in the future.  

What will change is the emphasis toward results and real world value to future needs...versus bureaucracy and writing papers that show no utility.

That's where the upheaval will be...perspective from a 35 year Atmospheric Scientist.

It will take you many months to digest the magnitude of the changes that have just started.  

Use proven, scientific principles, they will help you...along with time...to adjust to this new era we are on the cusp of.