What Happens to Our Homes When Mortgage Companies Fail?

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Mr. Fri's picture
Mr. Fri
What Happens to Our Homes When Mortgage Companies Fail?

This question has been bothing me for a bit.  My experience is in science & engineering so I'm not too good at figuring out economic questions. 

When TSHTF and the mortgage company or bank who holds your mortgage go out of business, what happens to your houre?  I'm sure the mortgage will eventually get sold to someone but there will be some time of turmoil in the mean time while everyone decides what to do.  Is there a worse case situation where some authority would come and close the house until something is decided?  I wouldn't think this situation would happen since millions of people would be kicked out of their homes which would cause civil unrest.  The reason I'm thinking this is that it may not be important if you own your house now since under an economic callapse the house (most likely) won't be taken away.  I wanted to get some of your insights.

james_knight_chaucer's picture
james_knight_chaucer
Re: What Happens to Our Homes When Mortgage Companies Fail?

You mortgage company would have borrowed the money to lend to you from someone else, so the mortgage will instead belong to that person/ company. You won't get kicked out of your house. That would destroy its value. It is just that in due course your mortgage payment will be to a different person.

strabes's picture
strabes

It shouldn't affect borrowers.  Bankruptcy is simply a shift in capital structure as the assets are sold to competent institutions--your loan being one of those assets.  They'd rather have a paying borrower on a mortgage than an undervalued house.

Of course in total TSHTF who knows what happens?  Most likely the guy with the biggest gun in your neighborhood or the most corrupt team of cops in your county gets the house.  Wink 

Ragnar_Danneskjold's picture
Ragnar_Danneskjold