What happens to mortgages during high inflation?

32 posts / 0 new
Last post
Mr. Fri's picture
Mr. Fri
What happens to mortgages during high inflation?

Since the rules of our financial world are changing and I’m not too good at thinking through major changes in an economy, I have to ask the question to others who understand more than I about a currency collapse.  Let’s say I have a house in the US with a $200,000 mortgage.  If very high inflation hits the US, the dollar would lose a lot of value and gold would soar.  Let’s say the price of gold goes to $20,000/oz so I could sell ten gold coins and buy off the house.  If I originally bought these gold coins at $1,000/oz then I’ve essentially bought a house for $10,000.  (Note, I’m using an absurdly high number for gold just to have round numbers.)  

Now, what if a new currency is issued?  Let’s say $10,000 is now equal to 1 FRI ( I always wanted to have my face on the currency…).  Does that mean my mortgage gets converted to 20 FRIs?  Is that what happens, does everything get converted the new currency?  I guess that would mean I’d have a job that would pay about 5 FRIs per year, or 0.1 FRI a week.  I’m sure a lot of other major things would be going on at this time of turmoil but does a straight exchange of new money for old take place across the board? 

Somewhere there has to be a flaw in my thinking because getting a $200,000 house (in today’s dollars) for only $10,000 worth of gold doesn’t seem right. The banks are pretty smart and I doubt I’m going to be able to beat them at their own game.

rhare's picture
rhare
Re: What happens to mortgages during high inflation?