Is value of US $ (via US $ index) getting positive spin?

20 posts / 0 new
Last post
pinecarr's picture
pinecarr
Is value of US $ (via US $ index) getting positive spin?

Hi Folks-

I am no expert in currencies, but more like someone in a foreign country trying to learn to understand (let alone speak) the language.  In following what is going on with the US dollar right now, I am seeing a change, and am  wondering what to make of that change.  So let me throw my obeservations and (possibly ignorant) speculations out there, with the hope of getting feedback from some of you others out there who have a better understanding of currencies (and manipulations of currencies).

Ok, so back a year or 2 ago, I figured betting against the dollar was a good investment-bet for me.  I stand to lose a big portion of my retirement savings in investments locked into $-based assets (nothing I can do about it short of quitting my job).  So I figured Investing in an inverse etf that bet against the dollar was a small way to hedge against that.

Now here's the kicker.  Betting against the US Dollar has seemed to make sense in our current economic environment, right up until Japan also started Quantitative Easing (QE).  Jack Crooks, who specializes in currency investments, makes the point that all things in currencies are relative.  So now, with Japan also doing QE, the US $ is starting to do "better" relative to the yen.  So my question is: even though the true value of the US dollar may be continuing to go down, if the other currencies in the basket of currencies used to determine the US index also do QE, then is it possible that the US index will start looking GOOD (since all things are relative to other fiat currencies)?  If so, it seems like that may be a concern for people like me who are betting (I mean invested :) in inverse etfs against the US ; maybe time to get out.