Upcoming Health and Healthcare Issues

80 posts / 0 new
Last post
ccpetersmd's picture
ccpetersmd
Upcoming Health and Healthcare Issues

Not unlike the burgeoning problems with the economy, energy and the environment so cogently presented in Chris Martenson’s Crash Course, we are potentially facing equally challenging issues in another basic necessity, our health. By the way,I tried to think of an “E” for this item, but failed. One disclaimer, before I get started: while I am a physician and have been following these issues for some years, my background is as a thoracic surgeon, so I do not pretend to have expertise with regard to all aspects of medicine, preventative care, health administration, etc. I fully expect that I will be incorrect in some of my assessments, incomplete in others, and welcome any feedback. These are simply the concerns that I have been following, and there may be others.

To oversimplify, our health is threatened basically on two fronts, injury and illness. The success of our response to injury and illness depends upon several factors: the underlying state of our health, the severity of the injury or illness, the potential benefit of specialized treatment, and our access to such treatment. The definition of injury is fairly obvious, whether it be mechanical, thermal, radiation, etc. For my purposes, illness would include any "natural" or traditionally “medical” diseases, to include hypertension, diabetes, etc., but would also include malignancy (cancer), and a primary focus here, infectious diseases. Specialized treatment consists of anything a lay person could not accomplish on their own, whether that be antibiotics, surgery, etc.