Too little inflation?

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
MikeMiller69's picture
MikeMiller69
Too little inflation?

Chris,

Thanks so much for making your videos available for all.  I'm a beginner at learning these basic concepts you explain, and I have a question about inflation.  In Chapter 16, you state: "inflation is a matter of active policy. Too little, and our current banking system risks failure. Too much, and the majority of people lose their savings.."

Why is too little a bad thing? Is it inherently a bad thing, or only because we're using fiat currency and fractional reserve banking system?  i.e. if we were on gold standard and did not employ fractional reserve banking, then zero inflation would be OK?

Thanks for your help and patience. :)

-Mike

gsti's picture
gsti
0 Infaltion is nirvana ;) it
0 Infaltion is nirvana ;) it is the dream of many economists
brjohnson789's picture
brjohnson789
re: Too little inflation?
[quote=MikeMiller69]

Chris,

Thanks so much for making your videos available for all.  I'm a beginner at learning these basic concepts you explain, and I have a question about inflation.  In Chapter 16, you state: "inflation is a matter of active policy. Too little, and our current banking system risks failure. Too much, and the majority of people lose their savings.."

Why is too little a bad thing? Is it inherently a bad thing, or only because we're using fiat currency and fractional reserve banking system?  i.e. if we were on gold standard and did not employ fractional reserve banking, then zero inflation would be OK?
[/quote]

Hello,