Tinfoil vs. Incontrovertible Science...

41 posts / 0 new
Last post
vilanodavis's picture
vilanodavis
Tinfoil vs. Incontrovertible Science...

On the CM forums, I have attempted to engage the community in polite but logical discussion on peak oil and man made climate change but have been treated as if I have tinfoil on my head. As I am not a scientist by trade, I have not pressed the need for further discussion here, until now.  A distinguished scientist of 67 years has resigned from a society he was a lifelong member of because of the rampant corruption and the refusal to broker honest debate in that environment. Well if he can press the issue, then perhaps it is time for me to do so as well...

You can read about it Professor Emiritus Hal Lewis resigning from American Physical Society at this link or in the snippet below:

http://my.telegraph.co.uk/reasonmclucus/reasonmclucus/15835660/professor-emiritus-hal-lewis-resigns-from-american-physical-society/

"When I first joined the American Physical Society sixty-seven years ago it was much smaller, much gentler, and as yet uncorrupted by the money flood (a threat against which Dwight Eisenhower warned a half-century ago).

the money flood has become the raison d’être of much physics research, the vital sustenance of much more, and it provides the support for untold numbers of professional jobs. For reasons that will soon become clear my former pride at being an APS Fellow all these years has been turned into shame, and I am forced, with no pleasure at all, to offer you my resignation from the Society.