Timing for buying a home

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
doorwarrior's picture
doorwarrior
Timing for buying a home

I know this has been covered in several other threads through the years but no one has touched on it for a while and conditions have changed recently.

I am trying to decide about buying a sustainable home for my family. I have been visiting this site for about three years and have been prepping for as long. I have a pretty good down payment but I also want to wait until I can pay cash. I don't like having a bank or any note holder involved if I can avoid it. I am also concerned that time is running out before a major disruption in any of the three E's occurs making buying a home almost impossible. I have a successful business(a garage door company, thats where the doorwarrior comes from) in Las Vegas that I can keep running even after I move out  of state. This will provide me with a good income until Vegas crashes.

Would it be a good idea to finance a home and partially count on inflation and my PM investments to help me pay it off in a couple of years? Or would it be better to wait another year or so, save money, wait for prices to come down further and pay cash.  If Vegas were to crash sooner rather than later finding a job and keeping the place could get difficult. With my PM's I could  coast for a few years but who knows what will happen to PM's or the job market. I know I could start another businees where ever I move to to help supplment the income.

The braintrust around here is very good at seeing all sides and I am sure I have missed things in my assessment. Thanks in advance for your help.

Rich

affert's picture
affert
Trade offs

Beyond financial considerations: once you've purchased the home, you can start in with location-specific preperations. 

Background: my wife and I purchased a house about 2 years ago.