Thoughts About The AIG Bonuses

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Lemonyellowschwin's picture
Lemonyellowschwin
Thoughts About The AIG Bonuses

Here are a few of my recent thoughts on this whole AIG (and other financial behemoths) bonus thing:

First, I hate AIG and the other financial behemoths for making very poor decisions for a long period of time, recklessly and in total disregard of the risks, and I want them to get what should be coming to them.

I really hate the Congress/Fed/Treasury's joint decisions to give hundreds of billions to these bufoons.  As Chris has pointed out repeatedly, it is a massive looting operation.

Therefore, I take a lot of offense when Congress/Fed/Treasury expresses "outrage" at the bonuses.  It is nothing more than a dog and pony show put on for public consumption.  As an attorney, I can tell you that the bonus deals, whatever they were, are binding contracts.  They are simply a liability of the company and in that sense they are no different than the absurd derivitives contracts that AIG was writing that ended up bringing them down.  Add to that the fact that these contracts (as I understand it) were negotiated sometime before the bailouts, that they were disclosed, that Congress/Treasury knew about the bonuses, the fact that they put in legislation allowing the companies to pay the bonuses, the fact that only bankrupcty would have voided these contracts, and the fact that the  using government money to pay out about $200 million on bonuses pales in comparison to governement money to pay out $200 billion for purposes of paying off derivitive contracts.  The whole thing is kind of like stealing.