There is no hockey stick

17 posts / 0 new
Last post
maichem's picture
maichem
There is no hockey stick

Hi guys/gals,

I may not be a mathematicion by trade, but I don't believe that the exponential growth CM shows as happening is accurate.   He starts by saying that "amounts" are used in place of "rates" for ease of explanation, but it is a misuse of data to illustrate exponential growth in this way.  The graphs below demonstrate how a simple change in range for the y-axis can change our position on the hockey stick.  I've used the same column of data for both graphs with a 5% rate of growth applied; the x-axis remains the same; the y-axis ranges from 0 to 1,000,000 in the first graph and 0 to 10,000,000 in the second graph.  Notice how in the year 60 we are climbing steeply up the hockey stick in graph 1, but barely on an incline in graph 2.

Now, this is not to say that the exponential growth of population is not a problem, or that exponential debt isn't a problem, but it is to say that the timeline for such cataclysmic doom is unforseeable when looking solely at the "amounts."

Perhaps this has been discussed, I couldn't find it anywhere though.

Thoughts?

Damnthematrix's picture
Damnthematrix
Re: There is no hockey stick

Chris Martenson DISCUSSES this at the beginning of the relevant chapter.  He explains that the y axis scale is determined by WHEN the impact of what it is that is being charted becomes an issue, so, for example, if the Earth could support 100 billion people, then the y axis would be at least that much, and you are right, there would be no hockey stick on a population chart with a 100 billion y axis....

HOWEVER, the world is ALREADY overpopulated, so a 9 or 10 billion scale is perfectly acceptable, and a hockey stick is detectable...

I suggest you rewatch the chapter on exponential growth.

Mike

taco's picture
taco