Sustainable Living Lesson III: Electricity

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
metalmongrel's picture
metalmongrel
Sustainable Living Lesson III: Electricity

Hi all,

To continue our dialogue on sustainable living technologies, I thought I'd include a lesson on electricity with the hopes of some other knowledgable people chiming in because I am no electrician.

At first, I didn't think a chapter on electricity would be as important as some other topics, but we humans have progressed so far with the help of and depended upon electric devices so much throughout the 20th centure that I figured it should be mentioned.  I think that the odds of a total electrical grid system failure in the US is slim to none.  That said, the availability of professional electricians who can come to your house to fix things might not as solid as before, or tools might not be as abundant.  If that's the case, then it'd be pretty handy to know how to do some repairs yourself.  Having the option of using the electrical appliances that you're used to will go great lengths to retaining a level of normalcy that will make life a whole lot easier.  Plus, after reading personal accounts on the situation in Argentina after their collapse, electricity was still available to the majority of people even though it might not have been 24/7, and people who knew how to FIX electrical appliances were in high demand.   

So let's start at the beginning, the most important electrical infrastructure is the one in your house.  I've found the following PDF that describes simply and graphically how the electrical system in your house works.  If a picture is worth a thousand words...

http://media.popularmechanics.com/documents/PMelectricalgatefold.pdf