SPX top at 1150-1250 at most, then im going short

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Subprime JD's picture
Subprime JD
SPX top at 1150-1250 at most, then im going short

This rally can continue until the 1100's and 1200's, basically filling a cup on the SPX. I have considered going short at 950, 1000, and 1050 but every time the momentum scared me and thank goodness that it did.

Bear market rallies do come to an end and in this environment this IS a bear market rally. The economy is a mess and will continue to falter as credit contraction in the household sector will continue. Moreover, more layoffs from local and state governments will continue including small business which is getting hammered. Just as my dad he can tell you about his worst month ever in 30 years of business this September.

As a trader i have escaped the worst short squeeze in US history. Now its time to take the contrarian approach and go against the mainstream, just as the smart money went long in March of 09.

Again, if the rally continues until the fall,  which i see that it will probably do so, im going short. This rally may last a year as wall street will celebrate the year anniversary on March 6, 2010. 2X (short) SPX is my preffered shorting vehicle as i cant get a call to buy back the shares by straight shorting. Also, put options expire and frankly scare the hell out of me. The most approriate chart for this market is the Nikkei 225. The N225 has insane rallies and drop offs. We can expect something similar here.