Some Help & Wise Council Requested on Investing In Oil

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
portal202's picture
portal202
Some Help & Wise Council Requested on Investing In Oil

Dear CM Community,

I am a novice investor but would still like to protect my current assets against the coming turmoil. I’ve read books and reviewed many websites but still haven’t found an answer to two particularly nagging questions- “How to buy barrels of Crude Oil and why isn’t buying crude oil a sound strategy”

I just want to preface the following with an acknowledgement of my ignorance and naivety. I recognize the fact that most of the people on these forums, including CM, are experts in their fields and there must be a very good reason why crude oil investment is not a sound investment strategy.

But to the novice investor who realizes the price of oil is going to rise indefinitely it would seem that buying oil would be a pretty safe bet. I looked into purchasing oil but only found oil futures indexes, oil companies or energy portfolios.

Can anyone please help me better understand why it is so difficult to invest in oil and why oil investment is not a recommended strategy.

My sincere thanks and gratitude-

John B.

Phil Williams's picture
Phil Williams
Re: Some Help & Wise Council Requested on Investing In Oil

John B.,