SOLUTION: This is a time for responsible policy changes based on science, not hysteria or speculation

60 posts / 0 new
Last post
holtmf's picture
holtmf
SOLUTION: This is a time for responsible policy changes based on science, not hysteria or speculation

I just watched the crash course, and as someone with a thorough background in modern science, I was distressed by its presentation of some ideas.  Additionally, I recently found a verifiable mathematical proof that our economy is doomed with 100% certainty.  I have just sent to Chris Martenson the following letter elucidating my concerns.

--

You are obviously adept at economic and statistical analyses, but what is your agenda with misleading your audience about the potential impact of renewable energy?  As a student of biochemistry (it's irrelevant to this discussion but I am also a student of neurotoxicology, though primarily my interests are focused on psychopharmacology) I am very concerned with your treatment of some scientific data.  I very much hope you are as open to this letter as I surmised from your demeanor in the crash course videos.

Before I begin explaining my position (which isn't really mine--it is influenced by so many sources I don't care who gets credit for it) I would like to implore you to make this very important distinction.  Right now, economics as a discipline is based on belief, not fact.  No true formal proof exists of any so-called economic "law." Economics should be mathematically predictable more than any other discipline since it involves merely the exchange of numerical values.  The idea that human action is indeterminate and consequently that economics cannot be mathematically modelled is fallacious.  The motion of an individual gaseous atom in the atmosphere is indeterminate, but the total movement of heat and pressure fronts can be confidently predicted and in fact is the basis of modern meteorology.