Robert Prechter on Deflation

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
suziegruber's picture
suziegruber
Robert Prechter on Deflation

I am still studying the inflation versus deflation question and in my daily perusal of the internet, I came across a new compilation by Robert Prechter called "The Deflation Survival Guide."   In it Robert provides what he considers his most important writings on deflation.  You can find it here:

http://www.elliottwave.com/deflation-survival-guide.aspx

Has anyone else here read this?  Any comments?

Thanks,

Suzie G.

JAG's picture
JAG
Re: Robert Prechter on Deflation

I have followed Robert Pretcher off and on since 2003. I am a firm believer in his socionomic theory, that the mood of a society is the driver of its economics. I have to admit that things seem to be unfolding exactly as he has predicted so long ago. My only problem with his financial forecast services is that during the bull market run between 2003-2007, his beliefs seemed to obscure his perception of reality (of course this is a very widespread human trait). For example, at every downturn in the market, his service proclaimed that "this was it!". If his service was your only source of guidance, you would have lost a lot of money betting on his numerous bear market forecasts. A lot of people can claim that they predicted the financial collapse in 08, but I think its important to recognize how many times their predictions failed in the previous years. (They got it right in 08, but they were wrong in 04, 05, 06 and 07.)