Precious Metals Exit Strategies

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
okubow's picture
okubow
Precious Metals Exit Strategies

Hi all, just wondering what the pm exit strategy is? When are you supposed to sell or use the stuff?

The exit strategies I've heard so far have been:

1. When 1oz. of gold buys the dow jones.

2. When a gold mania starts and gold prices go vertical.

3. When 1oz. of gold buys a house.

I'm no expert, but 3 seems a little out there. Also, wouldn't it depend on the general economic climate; for example what if 1 occurs during a period of extreme dollar volatilty?

As you can tell, I'm a newbie to precious metals. This question has got me stumped. Just wondering if some of you knowledgeable folks out there can shed some light on the issue for me and the other newbies out there.

gyrogearloose's picture
gyrogearloose
Re: Precious Metals Exit Strategies

Chris M has indicated he will buy land when it hits an oz an acre.....

Cheers Hamish

negator's picture
negator

1 oz of gold will always buy a nice suit of clothes for a man or 400 loaves of bread.

exit whenever you wish. . .

bluestone's picture
bluestone

I plan to hold a certain percentage of PMs for the rest of my life (and perhaps) pass them down to my children.  CM has also suggested that once a nation develops a strong industrial  base and year after year maintains a trade surplus, it may be a good time to unload some PMs and get back into the currency. (I may not be completely accurate in how I quoted him).  He then commented, not to worry, we probably wont be in that situation any time soon.  

goes211's picture
goes211

3. When 1oz. of gold buys a house.