Post-Carbon Mold Control

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
Wendy S. Delmater's picture
Wendy S. Delmater
Post-Carbon Mold Control

In examining our home for vulnerabilities in a post-crash world, you need to think about your climate. If it gets hot and humid where you live, even part of the year, you need to think about dealing with mold (or, as the Brits spell it, mould).

I live in South Carolina, where the heat and humidity are legendary, and before that I lived in costal NY, on Long Island. Very hot and humid summers there, too. I'd thought about ventillation for comfort issues and added attic fans and got the window screens repaired, and we are adding screen doors. But what of the finishes in my home? Even on Long Island that was an issue: in one apartment I had no air conditioning and inadequate light -  and mushrooms literally grew out of the carpet.

I'm a construction safety engineer by trade, and I know the long list of health concerns that mold is associated with. Asthma, allergies, certain types of infections, sick building syndrome, Legionaires Disease. . . let's just not go there by avoiding mold in our homes all together.

Mold and fungi need darkness and dampness to thrive. Deny them those conditions by increasing air and sunlight in your home. Dry out and fix any moisture problems, too. Things to consider:

• You may already have a mold problem. Black spots on walls, woodwork and fabrics may mean mildew: a potent allergen and bad news for your immune system. Deal with it now before it gets worse.

• Make sure you can open windows and doors to increase air flow through your home. If you rely on air conditioning to dry things out, remember it may not always be available. Insect screens are a must.