Physician financial services bulletin: "no financial crisis"

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
peter31's picture
peter31
Physician financial services bulletin: "no financial crisis"

Good morning

Today I received the following email from my physician financial services organization (I am a physician in Canada).  Basically it says "don't worry, there is no financial crisis, normal growth will continue". 

I can't remember ever having previously received an email telling me there is no financial crisis.  Does this mean that actually, there is a financial crisis?

Worried, Ontario.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Update: global stock market volatility

Market volatility reflecting a crisis of confidence among investors

We have witnessed dramatic global stock market volatility recently, following a string of weaker than expected economic reports and the aftermath of the U.S. debt ceiling vote.

While market volatility can be worrying, it is important to remember that we are not in the midst of a financial system crisis, an economic crisis or a debt ceiling crisis; it is a crisis of confidence. Our fragile global economy is still reliant on prudent policy-makers making the right decisions. When this is not the case, stock markets will respond quickly and show a lack of confidence. In 2008, by contrast, stock markets responded when the world's financial system was immobilized as a result of the failure of Lehman Brothers and subsequent liquidity problems.

Standard & Poor’s downgrades U.S. long-term rating