personal plans

2 posts / 0 new
Last post
britinbe's picture
britinbe
personal plans

Wow, what a great website.  Finding this and going through all the info crytalised a lot of what I had been feelings.  Interestingly enough, the BBC posted an article on agriculture and the need to reform based on a UK governmental/European report which put oil as on of the reasons.

The thing that striked me is that no government will ever admit to there being an issue, the general populus will be treated like small children that won't fully understand and may panic.  This would be the same for any major issue, natural disasters, disease,etc etc.  Again, there is the issue that people need to expect dramatic change.  No more 4 holidays a year.  No disposable items, nappies/dypers etc.  No more car and no more being able to commute for 1 hour to get to work or to just pop out to the shops to get that pint of milk when you have run out!!

I am a scientist and I work with somehighly educated people.  I discussed some of the issues this site raises, it brought some pretty blank looks and some strong negative reactions from others without even a willingness to listen to these data.  I conclude that many an individual has such a strong framing that proves to them that because there has always been progress there always will be.  Additionally, they point to the stats that prove their own point of view, oil for 200 more years and no to anthroprogenic global warming, certainly, they are very closed.

I have always had an interest in the big outdoors, the escape from it all (maybe due to too many hotels and airplanes with work).  Increasingly, I am drawn to this more and more.  I wonder whether camping and bush skills will become vital in the coming years in order to make up for the shortfall in what one normally expects from normal society.