Outstanding Article by Heinberg****

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
r101958's picture
r101958
dshields's picture
dshields
Re: Outstanding Article by Heinberg****

this is a long article.  while there can be no doubt that growth is directly related to cheap and abundant energy, it is also not so clear that current energy prices are what is screwing up the US economy.  at some point energy prices are going to rise to where the average man is going to be unable to financially function as he/she does today but it is not clear that point has been reached yet.  here in new jersey regular gas is selling down the street from our house for $2.49 a gallon - i bought some today.  at 5 dollars a gallon it would seem to be an economic big deal.  i am not a petroleum expert but if we use a liner extrapolation, and i am not at all sure it is linear, that would put spot crude oil at around 160 dollars a barrel.  at that point we would have a recession based on energy prices alone regardless of the other economic madness that abounds these days.

no, to me, the current economic crisis is a crisis of debt, outsourcing the manufacturing capacity of the US to third world countries, crazy government policies, out of control government spending, unreasonable expectations of the people to be taken care of by the government, the voting of the people to elect politicians who promise to redistribute the wealth of the country, the loss of the people of america to stand on their historic cultural imperatives to act responsibility, vote responsibly, work hard, save money, invest in their families wisely, pay their bills, etc..  unfortunately, if you confiscate all the wealth of the top 5% of the wealthiest people in america it would only be a tiny band-aid on the economic problems - like spitting in the ocean trying to raise the water level.  the numbers are so big and scary that my brain has difficulty comprehending them.