New from Austria - Introduction and Question

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
TatjanaH's picture
TatjanaH
New from Austria - Introduction and Question

I’ve been lurking around this forum and reading quietly for some time now, but I have decided that it’s time to introduce myself:

I’m 35 and live in Vienna, Austria with my husband and 3 cats. I work for one of the obligatory health insurance institutions in Austria.

I came to the Crash Course and this site via my interest in permaculture.

I’ve already watched the Crash Course video and read the book. Currently I’m reading “Currency Wars” and the Post-Carbon Reader.

I’m only beginning to take the steps outlined in the “What Should I Do?”-Guide and Series. My husband is in favor of preparing for small emergencies (Vienna is pretty safe concerning natural disasters) but doesn’t want to go as far as thinking about a real economic crisis. Although I’m not happy about this I can do a lot of preparing with my own money. (But even with my husband’s financial help we would not be able to buy a farm in the country and become self-sufficient.)

I’ve never been very interested in economy and politics, but that has changed. Nevertheless I’m afraid, I’m not really able to recognize how grave the situation in Europe really is.

So here a question for all the experienced readers here:

How grave is the situation in Central Europe? How urgently do I have to pursue my prepping-efforts?

Thanks in advance for you advise,

Tatjana

joesxm2011's picture
joesxm2011
welcome

Tatjana,

Welcome to CM.

I recently finished reading Currency Wars and thought it was a great book.

How common is it in Vienna for people to speak English?  I am wondering how difficult it might be for a tourist that speaks only English and some weak French to visit Austria.  My co-worker went to Germany and Vienna last year, but he speaks a little German.  He had a great time and said that Vienna was a beutiful city.