Mig welder?

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
osb272646's picture
osb272646
Mig welder?

Back in my college days (1970's) I worked as a welder in a factory down in Texas. 

I've been toying with getting a mig welder for a couple of reasons.  First, there's been many times that I could have used one around the homestead for repair projects, or creating gadgets.  Second, it seems like it might be a candidate for inclusion in a portfolio of personal capabilities should the current economic trading system cease to exist.  In other words, in the event the SHTF.

There are a lot of mig welders on the market, and the reviews range from "best thing since sliced bread" to "junk".  Usually for the same product.

I'm wondering if anybody on these forums has done any research on Mig welders, and what conclusions they got to?

TNdancer's picture
TNdancer
Re: Mig welder?

If you're not a pro welder ( and I'm not ), I found the Millermatic 140 to be quite handy.  Has an auto setting where you simply set the wire diameter, and the gauge metal you are welding ( comes with a small tool to check gauge ) and fire away.   Comes setup to use sheilding gas, but you can change the lead and use flux coated wire.  I use mine for simple repairs, making stuff around the house like flower box brackets for the deck, built a couple of tracking units for my solar collectors ( figure that job alone paid for the welder ) and so on.  Real handy for light weight stuff.   Have a 250amp engine driven Miller stick welder for heavy jobs, like building farm implements, but I try to use the mig anytime I can, it's so easy to work with.

mtforge's picture
mtforge

I have a Millermatic 251. It has a high enough duty cycle (80%) that I can do large jobs without letting it cool down. It's worked very well for me. But I usually tell people the first welder I recomend is a stick welder. You can change rods for different applications easily and don't need to buy/lease a tank. 

Dutch John's picture
Dutch John