Medical stockpile question

85 posts / 0 new
Last post
plantguy90's picture
plantguy90
Medical stockpile question

Ok, I'm in the US, and I want to know how one goes about stocking and storing basic antibiotics.  Here are my questions:

1) I have no perscription, and would rather not manufacture one at a doctor's.

2) Isn't the shelf life of antibiotics limited? 

Our family is of relatively good health, I cant remember tha last time I took any medicine, but my toddler has gotten sick a few times from playing with other children so its more for just in case the kids get sick.

jerrydon10's picture
jerrydon10
Re: Medical stockpile question

I take a pill everyday for high blood pressure. I have found that I can get this drug out of India through a company called International drug mart.

I've been using this company for a couple of years and they have been  very reliable and are known for supplying generics sometimes not available in the U.S and although this drug was initially prescribed to me by a local physician, this company does not require one (although Bush seemed to just hate the idea that I could buy cheap generic drugs without a prescription outside the U.S.).

I keep a three month supply as back-up which I rotate as I use it.

While antibiotics have a shelf life, this is much extended by keeping them in the fridge.

IN AN EMERGENCY--Yes, I screamed that because IMO this is not a good practice; the common antibiotics and needles for injection etc. can be bought without a prescription at your local vet supply store.

During the anthrax scare, I did exactly that.

Cloudfire's picture
Cloudfire