Life Insurance

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
radardeb's picture
radardeb
Life Insurance

I have a question.  I am a partner in a very successful business started 4 years ago which generates lots of cash.  So, at the tender age of 58, I recently bought a VERY expensive ($1500/month) whole life policy so that my daughter could pay the estate taxes when I die.  Otherwise I don't see how she could pay them or continue the business.  The insurance company is very highly rated for financial security, but now I'm wondering if insurance companies will survive the coming years.  Does anyone have any insight that might guide me here?

csadvisor's picture
csadvisor
Re: Life Insurance

I am a former insurance agent and current financial planner.  Without details of your situation, it is impossible to answer your question, but I will try to instead to address some of your concerns.  I am guessing you are looking to mitigate estate tax liability by passing a lump sum to your daughter outside of probate(which is what life insurance does).  Regardless of how highly rated the insurance company is, there always exists the possibility of failure.  Assuming your overall desire is to preserve your wealth and pass it along to your daughter (and not Uncle Sam), in this case in the form of a business.  I would recommend that you talk to an estate planner that specializes in business continuation.  The business should be able to be structured in a way to make it an ongoing concern regardless of your material participation in the business.  One way this can happen is by different corporate business structures such as privately held stock.  If you bought the insurance without a comprehensive estate plan, it may not efficiently do what you want it to do.