Kurzweil Speculates on Solar Energy, Health and Other Topics

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
JRB's picture
JRB
Kurzweil Speculates on Solar Energy, Health and Other Topics

Despite being a scientist, I tend to not look to technology to solve our energy problems.  But here is a different perspective on exponential development. 

- Jim

http://electronicdesign.com/article/power/kurzweil_speculates_on_solar_energy_health_and_other_topics.aspx?nl=1

Solar energy may be meeting only 1% of world energy needs today, but wait just 16 years. Then it will meet 100% of global energy needs, predicts inventor Ray Kurzweil, who forecast the worldwide interpersonal communications we know now as the World Wide Web. Kurzweil bases this and many other predictions on exponential computations and the widespread use of information technology.

sjmvideo's picture
sjmvideo
Re: Kurzweil Speculates on Solar Energy, Health and Other ...
Quote:

People may react similarly to his solar use forecast, he notes. However, since information technology is doubling every two years, our knowledge about and capability to utilize solar energy is “only eight doublings away from meeting 100% of our energy needs,” explains Kurzweil. Not only the U.S., but also countries like Germany, China, and Israel are actively pursuing solar energy systems.

Ok, now plot that 16 years against the exponential resource depletion and see where we end up. I used to buy into Kurzwell's vision of the future, then I used to hope parts of it would be true. Then I saw the Crash Course...

I would love for someone to sit down with him and go through this fantasy vision and show how the issues we all talk about here are going to be dealt with. No matter what, we can't continue on living in an exponential growth paradigm. Ray's thinking  seems to think that we can exponentially grow out of the brick wall we are headed to.