Inverse investing based on what "will" happen?

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
dschroeder01's picture
dschroeder01
Inverse investing based on what "will" happen?

I'm a novice investor and have been reading here for less than a year.  I've gleaned some great info, but recently I've been wondering why there's not more talk of inverse investing in some of the options available that go up with negative performance elsewhere.  Nothing is certain, but it truly seems like we're headed for a fall in the short term and long term.  Instead of keeping one's powder dry, why not add more powder waiting for the "best" time to go all in with your cash?  Why no inverse investing during the coming rout, make some gains, then buy more PMs when we start the printing presses up again?  Just curious?

Damnthematrix's picture
Damnthematrix
why indeed...

Because it's unethical?

sundarb's picture
sundarb
hedging a bad idea huh?
Damnthematrix wrote:

Because it's unethical?

Rigged markets are unethical. Why would inverse investing be unethical? It is just a hedging strategy. For example, Jim Rogers hedges his commodity bullish positions with shorting NASDAQ and shorting emerging markets.

You can hedge gold and silver trading positions with inverse ETF's or options.

dschroeder01's picture
dschroeder01
sundarb wrote: Damnthematrix
sundarb wrote:
Damnthematrix wrote:

Because it's unethical?

Rigged markets are unethical. Why would inverse investing be unethical? It is just a hedging strategy. For example, Jim Rogers hedges his commodity bullish positions with shorting NASDAQ and shorting emerging markets.

You can hedge gold and silver trading positions with inverse ETF's or options.