impact of peak oil could be limited by both behavior change and technology change

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
elasesor's picture
elasesor
impact of peak oil could be limited by both behavior change and technology change

I'm relatively new to Chris Martenson and his material, but I have been following some of these topics for a while.  I also own some oil & gas properties & some gold.  In general, I buy into most of what Chris says in the Crash Course.  However, I have a question that I was hoping the forum community (and perhaps Chris M.) would address.

I read an article recently that talked about the potentially huge supply of gold out there.  Apparently less than 1% of the presumed gold in the earth's crust is counted in the official gold supply.  The remainder is gold that is so dispersed that it wouldn't be economical to find it & mine it.  Generally the official gold supply is hugely dependent on the price of gold.  The author's point is that if gold prices were to rise to $5,000/oz that magically the gold supply would rise dramatically because all of a sudden more gold would be economical to mine.