I'm scared - what can I do?

93 posts / 0 new
Last post
Nime's picture
Nime
I'm scared - what can I do?

I'm seriously scared. I've watched the Crash Course and at first I was very very angry at Chris for not only publishing this all but also earning from it through paid subscriptions. But I did my homework, checked here and there, and most of the image painted in the Crash Course is true. Now I'm really scared. 

Now the only positive idea here seems to be to move to the countryside and start growing your own food and harvesting your own energy. I don't feel I'm able to do this.  

I live in a city.I don't own a piece of arable land. I'm an IT project manager, previously I was a programmer.  I don't know anything about agriculture - in fact no one in my family was a farmer for the last 5 generations or so (earlier records don't exist). I not only don't like the idea of giving up all I know and I'm good at for something that I can associate only with poverty - I just don't see how would I even go about it. All my knowledge, experience and intellect are worth anything only as long as there is IT. "Out there" they are all worthless and I'm not very good at physical labor - never was. On the other hand I can't refute high possibility that those who won't be high enough in society or independent might simply perish.  

So, what can I do? How can I protect my family? I ask this question over and over again, just like suggested in the course, but I don't have any real ideas what I could do. In fact I feel it might be already too late - I wish I was more interested in all of this three-four years later, but I was too busy working and getting my life together after a failed marriage etc. Now that I finally did it the world seems to be just failing apart. Sometimes I wish I remained ignorant - at least I would be able to sleep well at night.

Any real ideas from people who were in similar position?

(sorry for being this personal, but really I have no one to ask)