I just put in an offer on a house....

14 posts / 0 new
Last post
yoshhash's picture
yoshhash
I just put in an offer on a house....

Despite the general trend to head for the hills, I did quite the opposite, but it wasn't just any house:

It is a 5 bedroom house in Windsor Ontario, walking distance from the university (not a bad neighbourhood)- for $39k. Cash offer, no mortgage. Because of the depressed automotive sector, the house prices have almost bottomed out- though clearly not as extreme as Detroit. It is our first house.

I am a builder/architect, and my plan is to buy up even more of these bargain basement houses eventually, fix them and rent them out. While I am feeling confident about this (this is the epitomy of "trust myself") I welcome any comments, even ones that tell me that I'm crazy- but would like you then to follow up with the reasoning behind it.

Clearly, I believe that the Canadian situation will not be as bad as the American or most of the world. I believe that things will get much worse before they get better, but I do believe that good will come out of this mess. And the first example of that good is home prices dropping to a more equitable level and allowing guys like me to come in and buy them outright.

so.......am I crazy?

capesurvivor's picture
capesurvivor
Re: I just put in an offer on a house....

Sweat equity has worked for a lot of people. That price for a house near a university would be unheard of in the States unless it was next to a pig farm.

If you've got the fix-up skills, go for it.

Don't buy too many at once, though, IMHO.

SG

Ready's picture
Ready

Yosh,

My first house was an older, larger home (as I suspect yours is based on the price). It was awesome for my wife and me as a first home, but looking back on it, it was a huge money pit. More accurately, it was the biggest project I ever had. I spent every night and weekend working on it for a couple of years, as there was always something needing doin'.