How would gold standard work?

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
kjgienapp's picture
kjgienapp
How would gold standard work?

I've been fascinated by the financial markets since 2003 when I graduated from high school and I saw everyone going nuts over the stock market. My high school did such a horrible job of explaining inflation and how money is created that I started asking questions and searching the Internet. In college I focused more on computer science than finance but when I got to take some finance and economics classes near the end of college, I was once again presented with sub par explanations of how money is created. By this time I understood the effects of inflation because each year college got more expensive but it was the same college experience.

A friend and I have been exploring the Austrian school of economics. He is enrolled in some Austrian economic classes (I don't have enough time between work and baby daughter) and he has shared the information with me. But there are a few concepts I can't seem to wrap my head around.

How does a 100% gold or silver standard based money system increase the size of the money pool? Does it even need to expand? If it doesn't grow how does new industry and technology get created? My trouble with the concept comes from the fact that the world's population is growing but there is only a finite amount of gold or silver (I'm assuming all the gold has been mined, I do understand that mining gold increases the money supply but it can't go on forever). If there are more and more people doesn't that mean that there is less money available to each person?

If we use gold, what do we do with the gold that we use in industrial production? Since it is also money, won't this shrink the money pool? What about jewelery? I really like my gold ring. Wink