How can a young person prepare for the unsustainability of the future?

17 posts / 0 new
Last post
jsteid's picture
jsteid
How can a young person prepare for the unsustainability of the future?

Everyone,

Just want to first start of by saying I'm a newbie here, just finished reading the book about a week ago and have been cruising the forums since, but decided I should dive right in and ask some questions.

I was really struck with Chris's suggestions on how you can prepare for the future crisis, but outside of small changes in how I live my life (sustainability practices) many of the suggestions simply were not applicable for me.

I'm 23 years old, just starting my first job out of graduate school in a major urban area making barely enough money to cover rent.

What can I do, as a young person in this situation and environment, to get myself prepared?

Thanks in advance for the suggestions.

Jsteid

ao's picture
ao
Chris Sacca

Welcome jsteid,

What's your education, job, and urban area?

Here's some of the best advice I've ever heard for a new grad starting out in the world from Chris Sacca at the 2011 University of Minnesota's Carlson School of Management commencement.

SteveW's picture
SteveW
Advice

ao, thanks for posting the link of that excellent advice.

maceves's picture
maceves
sustainablity

Don't go into debt!!  

Rethink the larder and how you cook.  Enjoy what's good and fresh, but keep adding to long term supplies keeping the long picutre in the back of your mind.

Go through this website and read everything, going back into the archives.  There is some brilliant stuff here.

Try to shake off consumerism.  Don't buy stuff you don't need.  

Avoid the stock market.  Think about what you will really need to have in the future.

I hope your significant other is on the same page with this,  It will help.

A. M.'s picture
A. M.
Preparation

In a word: Skill Development.
Ok, so... two words.

Try and think of it like this: