Hi, I'm a Noob

14 posts / 0 new
Last post
V2's picture
V2
Hi, I'm a Noob

Greetings everyone. I'm new here, so I figured I'd say hello and introduce myself. I've been told that this is a great community (special emphasis there) for anyone who is in line with what CM postulates and wishes to be proactive about it. I'm hoping to meet some great people here and looking forward to enlightening discussion.

I'm a young man in my mid-20's. It was only a few years ago that I was blowing ungodly amounts of money on college tuition, swept up in an artsy major and not paying any real attention to the happenings of the world. My, how things have changed. I became disenchanted after a failed final project and promptly looked for a steady job. I was offered the first position I interviewed for and accepted it. I'm still there today, earning a meager but sufficient salary. I survived 2 rounds of layoffs because my department consists of 3 people - already bare bones.

I've never been all that trusting of the mainstream media or government, so during this new chapter of life - in which I have significantly more free time than I did in school - I sought out alternative news sources and found 2 gems - Mike "Mish" Shedlock and Karl Denninger. Granted, their styles are very different, but the information they provide has really pulled the wool from my eyes. I consider them to be true patriots - heroes, really - in an age of deception and "misleading leaders".

Anyway, after soaking up knowledge for a couple years, I started preparations for the rough road ahead. I've barely scratched the surface, but I'm sure that I can learn a great deal more at places like this. So far, I have done the following:

-I'm officially debt-free, as of this week. My student loans are history. This has left me with a little less than $10,000 to my name, some in bank accts, some in paper cash. I realize I'm already ahead of the game in that I can say my net worth is actually above zero.