Good crash-resistant livelihoods?

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
puglogic's picture
puglogic
Good crash-resistant livelihoods?

I work in technology, and know that what I do for a living will probably NOT earn me much of a living if things go downhill fast.

Which makes me ponder: what are some livelihoods that will not only still be in demand post-mess, but maybe even moreso?  I'm also very good at permaculture, harvesting water, growing food etc. for example, and could earn a few bucks helping others get set up.   I've wondered about things like learning a good repair skill, or locksmithing.  Any other thoughts/ideas on this topic?

Thanks,

pug

becky's picture
becky
Re: Good crash-resistant livelihoods?

Welcome pug!

Midwife, Seamstress, Tailor, Soapmaker, Candlemaker, someone knowledgeable about food preservation (to do it for others or to teach others how to can, preserve, make jerky, etc), Blacksmith

Basically, many of those trades that my high school career/guidance counselors would have rolled their eyes at several decades ago (I specifically remember one of them making a comment about how nobody could possibly make a living from being a blacksmith -- which even at the time seemed like a stupid attitude to me).

becky

SagerXX's picture
SagerXX

Hey pug --

If you know permaculture etc. then you're *way* ahead of the game.  Below is a link to the "200 Skills in a Victorian Town" -- the 200 occupations necessary to maintain a town in the Victorian era.  A number of them aren't relevant unless you're expecting an utter and total collapse (peg maker, charcoal burner), but they might be a thought-provoking place to start:

http://transitionculture.org/2009/01/22/the-200-artisan-skills-required-...

I call dibs on animal husbandry (goats, chickens et alia) and distiller!

Viva -- Sager

Davos's picture
Davos

I'd agree with the above.

We are both in the tech sector as well and talk about this all the time.