"gold bug" undercurrents

20 posts / 0 new
Last post
cedar's picture
cedar
"gold bug" undercurrents

When I hear someone use the phrase "gold bug" I often sense some deep negative feelings. Like when you hear "treehugger" or "liberal" or "peak oil doomer".

I'm new to gold. Can anyone shed any light on the undercurrents I sense? Do they exist? Why?

jdownie's picture
jdownie
Re: "gold bug" undercurrents

That's because the deep negative feelings come from people who have swallowed the government line that gold is not money.

Which suits the government fine because it makes it easier for them to make you accept their paper in payment for your labour. Government paper used to be considered equivalent to gold because it was redeemable in gold, that was called the Gold Standard. 

Since government paper is no longer redeemable in money, it is losing its value in terms of money i.e. gold (and silver), which is the same as saying gold (and silver) prices are rising.

cedar's picture
cedar

Thank you. I understand your comments. Am wondering why I sense a negative view of gold investors by non-gold investors? It feels different than, for example, whether you think Google or GM is a good investment.

scepticus's picture
scepticus

1) For a gold bug to profit significantly, everyone else has to suffer. Currencies must collapse, and as such economies and perhaps societies and civilisation must do also. People don't like thinking about these outcomes, and like the idea of someone profiting from them even less. So some people percieve bugs as doomers.

2) Many people don't see gold as an investment useful to society. It's a hedge. Would it not be better to invest in a business which employs people and produces stuff people want rather than hoarding gold? So some people percieve bugs as misers.