Gold "backwardation"

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Veritas's picture
Veritas
Gold "backwardation"

Hello,

I am no expert on the subject, but this development sounds possibly very significant.  It could be that the gold market is reaching a critical point.  I do know that James Turk is known as an international expert on the gold market:

http://www.kitco.com/ind/Turk/turk_dec122008.html

Have a nice weekend,

Veritas

Mike Pilat's picture
Mike Pilat
Re: Gold "backwardation"

Hello Veritas,

Like you, this matter concerns me. My concerns are slightly tempered by a few factors.

1. The amount of hype generated over the backwardation makes it appear to be a bubble in its own right. Then again, this is the first time ever that backwardation has lasted more than a few hours, I believe.

2. I've been told that a large part of the explanation for the backwardation is that short term T Bills have been pushed to 0% yield and so many of the big banks have simply flocked to gold in that environmnet. Of course have 0% or even negative yields on bonds is a big problem, so while this might explain why banks invested in gold, it doesn't make the situation appear any less extreme.

I've been hearing more and more demands for physical delivery of the gold, by both smaller investors and by big banks. I don't know if COMEX will break or not, but clearly this is putting immense pressure on the spot price, even as some institutions liquidate gold just raise survival cash.

I'd like to hear some other comments in this area if anyone else has some insights.

Thanks,

Mike

dbrenaissance's picture
dbrenaissance

Have you read Professor Antal Fekete's articles on backwardation?  He has two or three recent articles which discuss this in some depth.  A word of warning, professor Fekete is a bit of a gold bug, but very interesting. This is the first article in the recent series: http://www.professorfekete.com/articles%5CAEFRedAlert.pdf

Erik T.'s picture
Erik T.