Gold and Silver Questions

21 posts / 0 new
Last post
Mr. Fri's picture
Mr. Fri
Gold and Silver Questions

I'm new to the whole Crash Course concepts but as a scientist who enjoys looking at data, it sure makes since.  As such, it seems that it would be wise to put some savings into precious metals.  But, I'm not sure what's the best way to buy gold or silver.

Below are some questions I have about gold/silver buying.  I don't expect one person to answer all these questions but since we all have different experiences I hope these questions create some good discussions which will help others as well.

1) Are coins the best way to buy gold and silver?  (I’m talking a few 10s of thousands of dollars, not millions.)  With coins the gold or silver content is known so I’d expect they would be easier to sell them.

2) If I buy gold/silver coins, does it matter on what country they come from?  I would think something like Krugerrands or US Eagles would keep the same value since they're both one oz of gold.

3) When buying gold/silver coins, does the condition matter?  I'd think you are paying for the metal not the collector's value?

4) Does the percent of gold or silver in a coin matter?  In another post someone said he bought Mexican pesos with a few % gold in them.  I would think that buying something like an Eagle with 1 or 1/2 oz gold might be easier to sell in the future.

5) Is it better to buy gold or silver or a mix of each?  I haven't followed the markets much but I'm wondering things like; Is gold over-valued so silver would be a better investment?  Will silver be harder to sell than gold after an economic crash?

6) Is it better to do "cash and carry" for gold/silver?  If one buys online then your name & address exists somewhere in a database which could be a problem if the government starts demanding we turn in our gold.