The Future of Banking

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
codeblue's picture
codeblue
The Future of Banking

I have been working in the banking industry for nearly 15 years.  I now work for a small community bank, and of course we have been injured by the recent decline in the construction real estate market and the general overall state of the economy.  We are surviving due to more capital injected from shareholders as we refused the TARP funds.

Had I realized the concepts outlined in the Crash Course earlier than the beginning of 2009, I most likely would have transitioned my efforts and resourses differently a few years ago.  However, I am where I am; and I feel committed to my employer and those whom I call co-workers.  Also, as I look at other options, there seems to be fewer as the days go by.

But I truly question my industry right now.  The small community banks are an endangered species.  And actually, at some point, I am beginning to wonder if the entire industry will become extinct.  There truly is systematic risk that few realize.  Or maybe they realize, but choose to ignore.

Anyway, I value the opinions and views expressed from you in this forum.  Generally speaking, you "get it".  I have not found a better place where there are so many great minds coming together.

I know this may be speculation; but my questions for you:  What is the outlook for the banking industry?  Are the large banks going the gobble up the small?  What happens if there is a "reset" of the dollar"?  If you were me, would you look to change industries? 

strabes's picture
strabes
Re: The Future of Banking

hi blue, this is difficult.