Fat Guy in a Depression

50 posts / 0 new
Last post
JAG's picture
JAG
Fat Guy in a Depression

I would like to bring up a subject that is near and dear to my heart.... obesity.

By all of society's standards, I could be judged to have a "weight problem". Its a fact of life that I have dealt with for pretty much all of my adult life, and have actually come to embrace. While I have effectively battled it in the past to great (but temporary) success, I have found personal value in taking a contrarian approach relative to nearly all of modern society's paradigms, the "health" paradigm being a major one for me. 

As a medical professional, I'm more than aware of the empirical health risks associated with obesity. I'm also aware of one important factor in obesity, genetic predisposition. Somewhere in my genetic history, the ability to store fat gave my ancestors a survival advantage that allowed propagation of those genetics to eventually find there way to create me. Up until this point, being overweight in this society has been a disadvantage in all respects, but I think things are going to change in this regard in the years ahead.

There is a reason the last great famine in this country occurred during the great depression, and it can be found in the cycles of nature. So going into what can only be accurately described as a global super-depression, I'm confident that my genetic programing will serve my physiology well. While the mesomorphs and ectomorphs will be catabolizing muscle tissue to survive a famine, us endomorphs will be making efficient use of our fat stores.

My approach to being overweight has always been that if it doesn't interfere with my functioning, I'm not going to stress over it. How is my current functional capacity in regard to a survival context?

• I can work for hours in the garden in 100 degree heat and unbelievable humidity.