The Definitive Radio Communications Thread

28 posts / 0 new
Last post
Morpheus's picture
Morpheus
The Definitive Radio Communications Thread

Well, I have been asked to start this thread for some time now. Asked by at least 6 members that have PM'ed me so here it goes.

First, a little disclosure on my qualifications.

I am a radio engineer. I work for a fortune 100 multinational and I specifically design police/industrial/first responder radios. I've been doing this for 12 years. Prior to this I worked for NASA on the Advanced Communications Technology Satellite Program as a systems propagation research engineer under contract. I also perform research on system propagation and radio range optimization. So I design radios at the printed circuit board level and research methods to maximize their usable range.

So with that said, I am going to lead off this thread with some fundemental topics of communications that my experience tells me are important items to know in a SHTF situation.

First of all, ALL wireless communication devices are radios. Be it a cell phone, a "walkie-talkie", a cordless phone, bluetooth accessory, even an infrared television remote control believe it or not (IR is still part of the electromagnetic spectrum).

When I think of post-collapse society and communications these things come to mind:

1. You want a form of communication that is simple to use.

2. You want communication devices that are mechanically durable and environmentally hardened.

3. You want to be able to communicate in a manner that is as secure as practical. 

4. You want RANGE. That is, the ability to transmit and receive communication, at a minimum audio, preferably both audio and data to the farthest degree possible.

5. You may want to be able to monitor communications (legally) so as to anticipate an ensuing threat and take countermeasures.

6. You'll want to know basic radio technical terminology and why you should care about it.