Dark age investment company

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
knucklewalker's picture
knucklewalker
Dark age investment company

I am looking for some input on a business concept that I have had.

I am a veterinarian and former rancher/shepherd/land manager up here in western canada.  I also have completed the certification course to teach permaculture and the discipline of holistic management.

In light of the toughening economic conditions up here north of the border I am looking to diversify my income streams.

I am interested in starting an investment company focusing on us buyers of Canadian farm lands.

The concept would essentially be a way for US citizens to diversify their portfolios into hard assets outside of the usa.

My company would provide land acquisition and land management for either direct fee for service or part of the asset play.

The idea would be to acquire land and attempt to increase its long term productivity via organic or near organic means.

Investors could recoupe their money either via direct land resales, returns on farm income, potential sale of shares to other investors? 

I am just hoping for input as to the validity of such an endeavor....does it sound like something that US investors would be interested in?

I am a neophyte in the financial services sector but I have a great deal experience in the land management, farming, ranching sector.

I hope that this doesn' t sound to amateurish for members!

knucklewalker's picture
knucklewalker
Re: Dark age investment company

Guess this was a really dumb idea based on the responses :)

docmims's picture
docmims

I think most of us don't have large amounts of capital to invest.  Otherwise we would be cheering for Bernanke as he tilts against the proverbial windmills.  We are just trying to preserve what we have and survive the collapse that most of us fear.  Not profit from it, but nice idea in a morbid sort of way -- I RESPECT THAT!!Wink

lundsta's picture
lundsta