Current Financial Crisis - Anatomy, Timeline and Solution

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
ltlredwagon's picture
ltlredwagon
Current Financial Crisis - Anatomy, Timeline and Solution

Just read an interesting article by Bruce Wiseman on the anatomy/timeline of the current financial crisis and a solution:

http://www.canadafreepress.com/index.php/article/9454

I’m not a financial expert, but the article is rather long (about 5,000 words, rich in detail and a good read) so I’ll try to summarize:

1. Community Reinvestment Act (CRA) is rewritten by Congress and opens the door to loans that set aside basic sound lending criteria.

2. The repeal of the Glass Stegall Act in 1999 opened the door to the merger of commercial and investment banks.  There was now nothing to prevent the combined institutions from packaging up sub-prime CRA mortgages with normal prime loans and selling them off as Mortgage-Backed Securities through a different arm of the same financial institution.

3.  In 2004, Henry Paulson (then Chairman of Goldman Sachs) takes the lead with other investment banks to convince SEC regulators to waive a rule that required the banks to maintain a certain level of reserves.  The enormous capital thus freed up was used to purchase vast quantities of Mortgage- Backed Securities (spiked with the sub-prime CRA loans) which were sold around the globe.  Goldman made billions.

4.  Basel II.   The Bank of International Settlements (BIS - meeting in 2004) required banks to adjust the value of their marketable securities (such as mortgaged backed securities) to the “market price” of the security – known as Mark to the Market.