construction workers are hurting

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
bbobwat33's picture
bbobwat33
construction workers are hurting

i went through my sent message que this morning to see how many jobs i have applied for in the last three weeks and the count is 76. i'm a carpenter with 8 years experience. i feel like i'm the cream of the crop, i can build a house from frame to finish, from 2x4's and rafters to tile and hardwood flooring. i know my trade and my resume, references, and portfolio reflect it. so i've been having a hard time understanding why i haven't gotten any call backs until yesterday when i found a job posting in an obscure place with the employer actually posting a phone number to call. this is unheard of in my area. all job post either direct you to some automated website where you can upload resume or attached to an email. anyway i called this gentlemen and he commenced to explain to me that had gotten over 1000 phone calls about the job since he had posted.(three weeks) incredible.. it's rough out there...

ljhaines's picture
ljhaines
Re: construction workers are hurting

bbobwat33,

I feel your pain. I am a general contractor in New Orleans area and its bad all over. I still have two houses in a great subdivision that haven't sold since last April when the BP Oil spill caused majore disruption. Pre spill, these houses were selling in 52 days on average. I can't hire you if I have no work...

Another current issue is that there are so many foreclosures on the market the getting comps from bank appraisers to build a new home is hard when foreclosed homes are selling for less than replacement costs. Not too many people I know buy houses for cash so loans without appraisals are not going through.

I pray you find work, but if I were you I would look for some skills beyond home construction just in case the economy doesn't get better as promised from President Obama, Ben Bernanke and my fav....Tim Geithner say it will.

Poet's picture
Poet