Construction Loan Questions

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
PeakerSeeker's picture
PeakerSeeker
Construction Loan Questions

Hi everyone, 

I've been following oil/economy trends for several years now, and I consider myself pretty knowledgeable on them. I believe that we're headed for hyper-inflation and prohibitively expensive gas/oil within 5 years. Based on those assumptions/conclusions, I've decided that it's a good idea to build a zero-energy home relatively soon (currently rent in urban area). I know why I want to do this, but I have little experience with the (financial) how...

The land is already taken care of, so what I'm interested in is the working of a typical construction loan. I had a few general questions about this, that hopefully someone can answer/has experience with: 

1) How far in advance of actual construction can one typically secure a fixed-rate (let's say, 15 years) loan? Obviously, I'm interested in locking this in as soon as possible but probably won't realistically break ground for another 20 months. My assumption is that if and when hyper inflation occurs, a loan secured at today's super low rates becomes much easier to repay. 

2) Has anyone recently built a zero-energy home? Any estimates on how much it would cost for a small (~2,000 sq. ft.) home? 

3) What kind of strings are typically attached to basic construction loans? For example, is it possible to secure a larger amount than you need with the intention of purchasing gold with the excess to create gains to pay back the principal?

I'm obviously early in the process of these logistical matters, but I'm interested to hear people's thoughts and experiences.

earthwise's picture
earthwise
Re: Construction Loan Questions

I built my home in '02 and have other experience in this area.

Typically the construction loan works like this: